What are the similarities and differences between Halal and Kosher?

(information taken from http://halaltransactions.org/halal-vs-kosher)

Similarities

  1. Both Halal and Kosher apply ritual slaughter of animals/birds pronouncing prayers by a follower of the faith at the time of slaughter.
  2. Both use a sharp knife to cut through the neck of the animal in a certain fashion to ensure thorough bleed out of the carcass.
  3. Both methods of slaughter are proven to be more humane than the regular industrial practices.
  4. Both rituals are concerned about the health and safety (wholesomeness) of the food they certify.
  1. Both Muslims and religious Jews do not eat pork or its derivatives.

6.  Both Muslims and Jews do not eat the meat of predators or birds of prey.

Differences

  1. The Muslim “slaughtermen” usually pronounce the prayer on each animal at the time of slaughter. The Jewish Rabbi usually pronounce the prayer only once at the beginning of the slaughtering session.
  2. In Halal slaughter, the animals may be directed to Qiblah, whereas no such direction during the kosher slaughter
  3. In Kosher slaughter, the Rabbis examine the lungs and viscera of the carcass to check for discoloration and scars in these organs. In the Halal slaughter no such exams made and the health issues are usually left to the government officials and/or quality control personnel at the facility. This is why not every Kosher kill passes the approval, usually with an average of 50% or less of the carcasses may qualify for the Kosher stamp.
  4. For the meat to be considered Kosher, only the front side of the animal (i.e. beef) is certified Kosher but not the hind quarters, because of the issue of de-vanning. In Halal, all edible meats and offal of the Halal slaughtered carcasses of healthy animals can be labeled Halal.
  5. In the Kosher processing the meat is soaked in salt for about two hours then rinsed with water, to remove traces of blood from the meat. In the Halal processing the meat is not soaked in salt because only the flowing blood is prohibited from consumption by Muslims.
  6. Religious Muslims don’t drink alcohol which is acceptable by Jews.
  7. Religious Jews don’t mix milk and meat, nor do they eat shellfish or fish without scales.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: